Auto Update Settings
Software support is available only for the latest version of FydeOS.
You can allow FydeOS devices to automatically update to new versions of FydeOS as they're released and let users check for updates themselves. Allow updates is strongly recommended.
To stop updates before a device is enrolled and restarted:
- On the End User License Agreement screen, press Ctrl+Alt+E. If you don’t, downloaded updates that should have been blocked by a policy might be applied when the user restarts the device.
Software support is available only for the latest version of FydeOS.
Specifies the most recent FydeOS version that devices can update to. Devices do not update to versions of FydeOS beyond the number that you select. The last few versions of FydeOS are listed. You should only prevent FydeOS from updating beyond a specific version if you need to resolve compatibility issues before updating the FydeOS version. Or, if you need to pin FydeOS updates to a specific version before switching devices to the Long-term support (LTS) channel.
Select No restriction to let FydeOS update to the newest version when it becomes available.
Specifies how you want to roll out updates to managed FydeOS devices.
Choose one of these options:
- Default (devices should update as soon as a new version is available) — Devices automatically update to new versions of FydeOS as they are released.
- Rollout updates over a specific schedule — Only initially update a percentage of devices, which you can increase over time. You use the Staging Schedule setting to specify the rollout schedule.
- Scatter updates — If you have network bandwidth restrictions, you can scatter updates over a period of days, up to 2 weeks. You can use the Randomly scatter auto-updates over setting to specify the number of days.
Only available if you choose to roll out updates over a specific schedule
Specifies the rollout schedule for updating devices to new versions of FydeOS. You can use this setting to limit new versions of FydeOS to a specific percentage of devices over time. The date that some devices update might be after the release date. You can gradually add devices until they’re all updated.
Only available if you choose to scatter updates
Specifies the approximate number of days that managed devices download an update after its release. You can use this setting to avoid causing traffic spikes in old or low-bandwidth networks. Devices that are offline during this period download the update when they're online again.
Unless you know that your network can't handle traffic spikes, you should select Do not scatter auto-updates or select a low number. When scattered updates are turned off, your users benefit from new FydeOS enhancements and features quicker. You also minimize the number of concurrent versions, which simplifies change management during the update period.
Specifies the days and times when FydeOS temporarily stops automatic checks for updates. If the device is in the middle of an update, FydeOS will temporarily pause the update. You can set as many blackout windows as you need. Manual update checks that users or admins initiate during a blackout window are not blocked.
Note: Setting this policy might affect the staging schedule, as devices cannot download auto-updates during blackout windows.
Specifies whether the device restarts automatically after an update. If the device is configured as a kiosk, restarts happen immediately. Otherwise, for user sessions or managed guest sessions, the automatic restart happens after the user next signs out*.*
- Allow auto-reboots—After a successful auto-update, the FydeOS device restarts when the user next signs out.
- Disallow auto-reboots—Disables auto-restarts.
Note: For user sessions, we recommend you also set the relaunch notification user policy, so that users are notified to restart their device to get the latest update.
Specifies the types of connections that FydeOS devices can use when they automatically update to new versions of FydeOS. By default, devices automatically check for and download updates only when connected to Wi-Fi or Ethernet. Select Allow automatic updates on all connections, including cellular to let devices automatically update when they’re connected to a mobile network.
-
Block devices & user sessions after — For devices that have a version of FydeOS that is older than the one you specify. Sets the length of time after which users are signed out of devices. Choose a value between 1 and 6 weeks. To immediately sign out users until the device is updated, choose No warning.
-
if they are not running at least version—Specifies the oldest FydeOS version that you allow on users’ devices.
-
Extend this period for Auto Update Expiration devices to—For devices that no longer receive automatic updates and have a version of FydeOS that is older than the one you specify. Sets the length of time after the Auto Update Expiration (AUE) date has passed that users are signed out of devices. Choose a value between 1 and 12 weeks. To immediately sign out users, choose No warning.
-
Enforce updates Auto Update Expiration (AUE) message — Specifies the message that users see on devices that have reached their AUE date and have a FydeOS version that is older than the one you specify. Use plain text with no formatting. No markup is allowed. Left empty, users see the default message.
How users see this message on their devices depends on whether the length of time that you specified in Block devices & user sessions after has passed:
- Until devices reach the time you specified — Users see the message on the FydeOS management page after they sign in.
- After devices reach the time you specified — Users see the message on the sign-in screen. The device is blocked and users can’t sign in.